Top Banner

Power Soca Monarch and Ragga Soca Monarch crowns up for grabs
01.07.2016 - Lyf Compton

Last year's national Ragga Soca Monarch and national Power Soca Monarch winner, Gamal 'Skinny Fabulous' Doyle has decided not to defend his crown.
But while Doyle has opted out of competition, second place winner in 2015 and eight time winner Delroy 'Fireman' Hooper has not and on Saturday July 2nd, the competition will be extreme.

Fireman Hooper will this do a song entitled "Homeless".

The other competitors in the Power Soca category are Hance John with "Hired"; Shane 'Hypa 4000' Husbands with "No Behaviour"; Ryan 'Royal' Abraham with "Pandemonium"; Naptali Duncan with "Fencing Pole"; Manaki 'Londan Ice' Trimmingham with "Demolition"; Kester 'Flanka' Chapman with "War Tanka"; Kurtne 'Fresh Kydd' Patterson with "Nah Study Nothing"; Lancelot 'Mad Skull' Gloster with "Nasty Habit"; Claydon 'Dymez' Roach with "Wuk Him out"; Raeon 'Fete King Madzart' Primus with "Posse"; Lornette 'Fire Empress' Nedd with "Drinking Heavy Weight"; Phillip 'Wetty Beatz' Bastien with "Drunk Army"; Travis 'Wiz Skid' Lynch with "Mahma Man;" and Kemuel 'Karbon' Stapleton with "Splash".

The Ragga Soca finalists are Shaunelle McKenzie with "Wet and Wild"; Hance John with "Zone"; Fete King Madzart with "Function"; Kamara 'Keido' Foster with "Frass"; Chewalee Johnson with "Rumist"; Hypa 4000 and Kevin Lyttle with "Burn up the Road"; Jamarie 'L Pank' Stapleton with "In the Water"; Ozarie Matthews with "Bend Over"; Wetty Beatz with "Under Dog"; Mad Skull with "Doh Worry"; Keith Currency with "Fetter"; Dymez with "Malice".
Skinny Fabulous won the Ragga Soca Monarch competition last year, his first time competing, with "This Island is Mine", a joint effort between him and pannist Rodney Small while he won the Power Soca Monarch title for the sixth time with "Mash up International".